The Magazine of American Municipal Power, Inc. and its Member Communities

Because You Belong

2022 AMP Annual Conference

6 min read



December 2022

By Zachary Hoffman, Manager of Communications and Publications

Nearly 350 people attended the 2022 AMP Annual Conference, either virtually or in person, where they heard from industry experts about the latest on energy markets, regulatory and legislative developments, industry trends and safe work practices, among other topics, and received updates on AMP programs and services.

The 2022 AMP Annual Conference was held Sept. 26-28 at the Hilton Columbus at Easton. Nearly 350 people were in attendance.

The 2022 AMP Annual Conference was held Sept. 26-28 at the Hilton Columbus at Easton. Nearly 350 people were in attendance.

The AMP Annual Conference is the organization’s premier event, helping to inform members on the topics that are most important to them. The conference includes a mix of educational sessions and panel discussions, as well as a mix of speakers from AMP staff and external industry experts.

“Each year, our speakers and topics are selected to best fit the needs of our member officials,” Adam Ward, senior vice president of member services and external affairs. “We take member feedback from past conferences into consideration, along with the current state of the energy market, economy and public power as a whole. We aim to provide the most relevant and interesting agenda possible.”

Sessions during the 2022 Annual Conference included:

  • A panel discussion with board chairs from the American Public Power Association, Large Public Power Council and Transmission Access Policy Group;
  • A panel discussion on issues relating to the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) and regional transmission organizations featuring Manu Asthana, PJM; Commissioner Mark C. Christie, FERC; Kent A. Chandler, Kentucky Public Service Commission; and Tim Gallagher, ReliabilityFirst; and
  • Educational sessions on the state of power markets, the nation’s economic outlook, top trends in HR, managing peak demand, the federal grants landscape and an update on federal legislation.

Additionally, the conference serves as the premier networking event for AMP member officials.  Attendees can meet with public power officials, AMP staff members and others from around the industry during breaks, meals and the annual Municipal Electric Partners (MEP) Reception.

This year’s MEP Reception featured 29 vendors, offering attendees the chance to learn about these partner organizations and their products and services. With officials from 63 AMP member communities present, it again proved to serve as an excellent networking opportunity that is highly valued by attendees.

“I have been attending the AMP Annual Conference for many years and it is always a great learning and networking opportunity,” said Kimberly Schlichting, president & CEO of the Delaware Municipal Electric Corporation. “The sessions are a great way to stay on top of the latest industry trends and best practices.”

In addition to educational sessions and networking opportunities, the conference features AMP’s annual general membership meeting. During the meeting, AMP leadership provide member officials with updates on projects, initiatives and the current state of the organization and its finances.

Additionally, the meeting features the annual elections for the AMP Board of Trustees. This year, elections were held for 13 Service Group seats expiring in 2022 and one unexpired at-large seat that expires in 2023. The AMP member communities of Bedford, Bowling Green, Cleveland, Clyde, Coldwater, DEMEC, Ephrata, Hamilton, Paducah, Philippi, Piqua, Wadsworth and Westerville, were elected to three-year terms and Grafton was elected to complete the one year remaining on the unexpired at-large seat.

Following the General Membership Meeting, the AMP Board of Trustees met to elect officers for the coming year. The following individuals were re-elected to leadership positions:

  • Chair – Jeff Brediger, City of Orrville
  • Vice Chair – Robert Patrick, City of Wadsworth
  • Secretary – Dave Carroll, City of Paducah
  • Treasurer – Chris Monacelli, City of Westerville

The conference also includes the AMP Awards Banquet, which this year featured inspirational keynote speaker Sean Swarner, the author of Keep Climbing.

The main event of each year’s banquet is the presentation of the AMP Seven Hats Award. The award is modeled after the APPA’s national Seven Hats Award and recognizes utility managers who serve smaller communities of less than 2,500 meters, and whose management duties extend well beyond the scope of a manager in a larger system. Award winners show skill in seven areas: planning and design, administration, public relations, field supervision, accounting, personnel or employee direction, and community leadership.

During the banquet it was announced that Kyle Francis, assistant village administrator for the Village of Versailles, was the 2022 AMP Seven Hats Award recipient.

“Kyle Francis truly embodies the type of public power leader that this prestigious award recognizes — a strong work ethic, dedication to community and public power and passionate leadership,” said Jeff Brediger, director of utilities for the City of Orrville and chair of the AMP Board of Trustees. “I am honored to present the award to Kyle on behalf of the AMP Board of Trustees and thank him for his service to public power.”

Additionally, during the banquet, 14 individuals were honored with the AMP Service Distinction Award, and it was revealed that Marty Kanner, founder and president of Kanner & Associates and long-time advocate for AMP and OMEA, would be named the 2023 AMP Wall of Fame honoree.

See a full list of the utilities and individuals presented with awards during the 2022 AMP Annual Conference here.

In addition, the conference provided video highlights of a yearlong campaign focusing on the public power lineworkers in AMP’s member communities, who were collectively named as the 2022 honorees to the AMP Wall of Fame.

The AMP Wall of Fame was launched in 2010 to honor individuals who have made significant contributions to AMP, the OMEA and to public power in AMP’s member communities. The AMP Wall of Fame includes the names of individuals who have left an indelible mark on the organization.

To learn more about the AMP Annual Conference, visit the Annual Conference page of the AMP website.

2022 AMP Annual Conference Slideshow